Pope creates 14 new Cardinals

Pope Francis will create 14 new cardinal during the Ordinary Public Consistory in Rome’s St. Peter’s Basilica Thursday evening, June 28. 11 of whom will be in a position to elect, and be elected as, the next pope.

The Pope first announced the names of the new cardinals on Sunday, May 20, following his midday “Regina Coeli” prayer and blessing in St. Peter’s Square.

They come from 12 countries, including Madagascar, Japan, Pakistan, Iraq, Mexico, Peru, Spain and Italy, in another attempt by the pontiff to make the College of Cardinals a reflection of the universality of the Church.

The new Cardinals are:

  • His Beatitude Louis Raphaël I Sako – Chaldean Catholic Patriarch of Babylon (Iraq)
  • Archbishop Luis Ladaria –Prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith (Spain)
  • Archbishop Angelo De Donatis – Vicar General of Rome (Italy)
  • Archbishop Giovanni Angelo Becciu – Substitute of the Vatican Secretary of State and Special Delegate for the Sovereign Military Order of Malta (Italy)
  • Archbishop Konrad Krajewski – Almoner of the Office of Papal Charities (Poland)
  • Archbishop Joseph Coutts of Karachi (Pakistan)
  • Bishop António dos Santos Marto of Leiria-Fátima (Portugal)
  • Archbishop Pedro Barreto of Huancayo (Peru)
  • Archbishop Desiré Tsarahazana of Toamasina (Madagascar)
  • Archbishop Giuseppe Petrocchi of L’Aquila (Italy)
  • Archbishop Thomas Aquinas Manyo of Osaka (Japan)
  • Emeritus Archbishop Sergio Obeso Rivera of Xalapa (Mexico)
  • Emeritus Bishop Toribio Ticona Porco of the Territorial Prelature of Corocoro (Bolivia)
  • Father Aquilino Bocos Merino of the Claretian order (Spain)

The Pope said he chose the last three for their distinguished service to the Church.

Facebook Comments